Users & roles

As an admin, you can manage users, Groups, and permissions or you can let users create their own accounts through signup with an SSO authentication provider.

To manage users in your workspace head to SettingsUsers. From this screen you can invite new users, search through existing, check activity, and manage individual user’s permissions.

Roles

Admin

The admin role has permission to manage the entire Outline workspace including billing and integrations. By default the first user that signs up becomes an admin, as does the user that first enters billing details in a cloud workspace. Admins also have all the permissions of an editor.

Editor

This is the default role in Outline, editors have permission to view, create, edit, and comment on documents in any collection that is visible to the workspace or shared explicitly with them. They can also see other workspace members, user groups, and document history.

Viewer

In this limited role users have view and commenting permissions for documents in any collection that is shared with them. Viewers can have their permission upgraded to an editor through additional permissions given on individual collections or documents.

Guest

Note: The guest role is not available in the self-hosted community edition

In this most limited role, users have access to no collections or documents unless explicitly shared. They also do not see document history, who’s viewing documents, or any settings screens beyond their own account preferences.

Management

SSO

If a user leaves your company or team you will likely want to restrict their access. Users that authenticate through an IDP and are removed in the identity provider will automatically be logged out when they next load the application.

Note that the user will only be logged out, this does not automatically remove a billed seat.

Suspending users

We recommend suspending users which will prevent login, immediately logout any existing sessions, and remove the billed seat – all data associated with the user will be retained.

Deleting users

It is possible to delete users. This will permanently remove all PII resulting in documents and comments attributed to “Unknown”, it will also prevent you potentially reinstating their account at a future time.

Deleting is not recommended due to it’s irreversible nature.